May 2019

May 23, 2019
Symposium explores how to improve the built environment through innovative solutions and government-industry-academia collaboration Public and private sector leaders convened at Rutgers University School of Engineering recently to discuss how government, industry, and academia can collaborate and innovate to improve New Jersey’s stressed infrastructure.

March 2019

March 12, 2019
Assistant Professor Nicole Fahrenfeld (CEE) is the principal investigator of a 2019 National Science Foundation (NSF) Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Award titled “Controls on the Host and Transfer of Hazardous Genes.” The goal of this project is to apply new techniques to monitor antibiotic resistant (AR) microbes in different environmental settings. This information will be used to track the transmission of antibiotic resistance through the environment. 

November 2018

November 29, 2018
With recent onsite tests, Rutgers University’s Nenad Gucunski hopes to improve bridge testing methodologies using the T-Rex mobile shaker from the NHERI facility at University of Texas, Austin. Gucunski and his colleagues aimed to overcome limitations of existing dynamic testing methodologies for structural systems with his EAGER project, “Informing Infrastructure Decisions through Large-Amplitude Forced Vibration Testing,”

June 2018

June 26, 2018
WNBC News 4 featured bridge innovation technology implemented by faculty associated with Rutgers School of Engineering and its Center for Advanced Infrastructure and Transportation. View the video below: If your daily commute takes you over a bridge, chances are you see rusted steel, cracked concrete and other signs of poor condition. Then there are other problems you can't see with the naked eye. That's why engineers are turning to technology to make sure wear and tear doesn't turn into a disaster.
June 19, 2018
The U.S. Department of Transportation (USDOT) selected Rutgers School of Engineering's Center for Advanced Infrastructure and Transportation (CAIT) to lead a consortium of universities that will compose the USDOT Region 2 University Transportation Center (Region 2 UTC). Region 2 comprises New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

May 2018

May 3, 2018
The Rutgers University Athletic Department announced civil engineering major Michael Rexrode of the men's lacrosse team was awarded the prestigious Big Ten Conference Medal of Honor at the 2018 RAwards at the Rutgers Athletic Center in May.

March 2018

March 19, 2018
Professor seeks “helluva (better) way to run a railroad” Millions of commuters and goods worth billions of dollars rely on the safety and efficiency of railway systems in the region, including NJ Transit, Amtrak, PATH, New York City subways, CSX Corp., Norfolk Southern Corp. and many shortline freight railroads. And in an era of high-profile railroad accidents and rising rail traffic, many of these systems face challenges ranging from infrastructure integrity to operational safety to uncertainty regarding future funding.

February 2018

February 12, 2018
Hyungjoo Choi, PhD candidate, presented his current research topic on the fatigue evaluation of fillet-welded tube connections for sign support structures at the Structural Engineering Institute (SEI) annual technical dinner seminar held February 1, 2018 at the Crowne Plaza, Fairfield, NJ. Hyungjoo is conducting his research work under the direction of Dr. Husam Najm.

December 2017

December 4, 2017
Aseel Mansi, PhD student, Dr. Yook-Kong Yong and Haider Abdulhameed, PhD student won the Best Poster Award at the 19th Annual NJDOT Research Showcase. The title of the poster was "Development of Low-Shrinkage Rapid Set Composite and Simulation of Shrinkage Distress in Concrete Patch Repair."

October 2017

October 18, 2017
During the summer of 2016, two Rutgers students from the campus group Bridges to Prosperity traveled to Bolivia with students from the University of Colorado to help design and build a footbridge for the community of Churo Alto, where children had to traverse a gorge en route to school. They often slipped down the sides of the gorge or were unable to cross during the rainy season when the gorge flooded.